Your Help Center articles are valuable assets. Great articles can reduce ticket volume by answering customers’ questions effectively, decrease resolution times, and minimize the time it takes to onboard new agents. If an article is deleted by mistake, it can have significant impact on your business.
That’s why we are announcing a new archiving feature for articles in Help Center that ensures that articles can’t be deleted, but are archived instead, so they can be restored again if necessary.
Archiving replaces the delete functionality, which means you can always find a list of your archived articles. There is no limit to how many archived articles you can have and you can see articles that were deleted/archived dating back to August 20.
It will roll out to individual accounts over the coming days, so if you can't see the functionality yet, hang tight!
Archive, don’t delete
When editing an article, click the Archive article button to archive the article. This removes the article from your Help Center, similar to the previous delete functionality.
If you delete an entire category or section, any articles contained within it will be automatically archived.
For information on archiving articles, see Archiving an article to remove it from your knowledge base.
Restore archived articles
Any archived article is accessible to Help Center Managers from Articles > Manage content by clicking the Archived articles list in the sidebar.
Here, you can find all your archived articles. If you want to find a specific article, use the search and filters located at the top.
Clicking an article shows you the article in a read-only mode, where you can restore the article. The article will be automatically restored into the section where it was previously located. If the section no longer exists, you will be prompted to select a new section.
For information on viewing your archived articles list and restoring articles, see Viewing and restoring archived articles.