Right now, deleting a ticket is a permanent action. Once deleted, it's gone forever. This is usually fine. We verify every deletion, asking the agent for confirmation. Even still, there are mistakes, and even malicious acts. In order to make deletion safer, we've created a Deleted Tickets view (a Ticket Trash Can, if you will). This appears among your views, and allows recovery of accidentally deleted tickets.
One more thing. Historically, deleted tickets in Zendesk have been "soft deleted" -- they still exist in our database, but do not appear in your account. Some Zendesk customers have made the request that data must be removed permanently. Now deleted tickets will be permanently "scrubbed" from our database after 30 days. Admins and Agents with access to the deleted tickets view can also take this step sooner if information removal is time sensitive.
What are the benefits
- Recover deleted tickets when there are accidents
- Limit access to the deleted ticket view to only the agents who need it
- Permanently remove ticket data with scrubbing
Who can use this feature
This will be available for all accounts, on all plans within the next couple weeks. We're slowly adding it to accounts, and feedback is welcomed.
First of all, your agents will now have an "Undo" option after deleting one or more tickets. This can help fast acting agents to restore tickets right away without even changing screens.
You also have access to a "Deleted tickets" view, which shows you a list of all tickets deleted within the past 30 days.
In this view you can individually or in bulk select tickets.
Selected tickets can be restored (they will show back up in the views they were visible in before deletion), or permanently scrubbed, allowing you to rest easy that the data is gone.