Merging Tickets — 'Comments visible to initiator' unchecked by default

30 Comments

  • Kiryl Sh.

    Dudes, nobody is interested or you don't use this option often in your case?

    6
  • Liseth

    Yes! We use this a lot. Please add the option to make it unchecked by default. We've had many cases of customers complaining for receiving an email just stating that the ticket has been merged!! 

    7
  • Alexandra Lato

    This is really important, as we often forget to click it! It is very annoying for customers to receive such an unnecessary notification.....Please fix this!!! Small detail but great importance.

    6
  • Benjamin

    Small detail but it would make a great difference for us and reduce the chance for human error since we use this feature all the time

    6
  • Quentin Berson ♞

    We need this feature too !

    We're loosing precious time thinking to uncheck this box. And the human error are the worst :)

    6
  • Mark Lee

    Agree - this should be un-ticked as the default.

    Easy fix for Zendesk.

    5
  • Omar

    Hello,
    Yes, adding this feature is really important for us. As internal information are sent to out clients.

     

    3
  • Thomas Nylund

    I agree. This should be un-ticked by default. 

    2
  • Darren Hua

    Please fix this feature. It makes no sense to alert customers that often. Solving their issue with the least amount of "spam" is ideal than this. People who tend to send us lots of the same tickets because they are already annoyed do not need further emails of this as trust me they can more annoyed. 

     

    I understand we can always uncheck it as well but its more convenient. Thank you!

    3
  • Mark Lee

    Spoke with Tier 1 support about this.

    Reason being [ticket defaults to ticked] is we often found a lot of people were complaining of missing tickets if they were not notified.

    I do understand this, but not sure everyone or even the majority of Zendesk users prefer this to be ticked as default?

    It would be interesting to know what % of all merged tickets are being manually un-ticked by agents.

    I think many would like one of the following changes made:

    1. Change it to default un-ticked
    2. Allow us to choose own own default (at company domain level)
    3. Save previous choice as next default (at agent level)

    Number 2 is probably the best here.

     

     

    5
  • Kiryl Sh.

    Hi Mark, 

    Thanks for supporting this request.

    Your p.2 is perfectly matching what was suggested: having in admin settings a possibility to set this checkbox to always 'ticked' or 'un-ticked' at company domain level. That would satisfy everyone.

    3
  • Heather R

    I had to chime in to support the idea that we should be able to set our own default. That should be the case for many features, if not all!

    3
  • Patrick Norsch

    definitely a +1 here. Looks like a bunch of silence from ZD on this and related threads though. Not holding my breath....

    2
  • Patrick Norsch

    Hey Mark, I would say we are near 100% on having to manually uncheck this option on merged tickets. The times when it is not unchecked is usually due to rep oversight.

     

    We would definitely like to be able to set the default on this checkbox for ALL tickets

    2
  • Ricardo

    Hello everyone. 

    This is a known issue our developers are aware of. Unfortunately I can't provide any ETA for resolution.

     
    -2
  • Kiryl Sh.

    Hi Ricardo,

    Thanks for the update, even if it's kinda useless.

    Saying 'this is a known issue, but we don't plan to provide you with a solution' can only mean that Zendesk doesn't care if this precise issue may cause problems for some of their customers, until it makes them leave. You are right to ignore the issues which don't make your customers opt out, as there may be myriades of feature requests and you can't satisfy all of them. The only thing I ask for is not to confuse Zendesk customers by encouraging us to make 'feature requests'. It will be much more honest and less disappointing for a lot of people who spend their time and energy on posting here and there.

    Ricardo, don't take it personally, this post is for all Zendesk buddies engaged into Zendesk development and management.

    4
  • Annelise

    +1 to getting this in as a feature request, we are un-checking this box 100% of the time and would love it to be the default. If there is a way to do this that's been developed in the last months, would love to know about it!

    4
  • Julie Gendron

    +1 Having it checked by default causes human errors when the checkmark is not unchecked and confuses our customers.

    3
  • Sébastien Parent-Charette

    Yes, it is confusing for customers and a very error prone situation. Please add an option to at least have the administrator select if it is checked/unchecked by default!

     

    3
  • Nimrod Barnea

    +1

    would help a lot in saving time and avoiding mistakes 

    2
  • Autumn Fair

    +1 We are unchecking the boxes 100% of the time since the extra emails were causing customer confusion. I agree that it'd be helpful to have the administrator set the default. 

    3
  • Wouter de Vries

    +1 We are also unchecking the boxes 100% of the time! This default setting should be a standard feature.

    3
  • Andreas Schuster

    Annoyed since 2014 about this setting. 

    3
  • Chris Bulin

    It would be great if there were an account setting that would allow you to toggle this for your account. That way orgs who want it up by default can have it and vice versa. We are trying to avoid confusion for our users and the merge notification is endlessly confusing for them.

    3
  • Guillaume

    Hey any updates on this feature?!

     

    I really think a lot of people need this!

    (And the ones not asking for it are probably too busy "unchecking their boxes" to write a message here!) 

    Please Zendesk team, give us that feature for Christmas!! :)

    1
  • Sébastien Parent-Charette

    +1

    This issue is still as annoying as it was earlier this year. It is a bit confusing that it has been on-going for so much longer for others!

    Please add an option to make it permanently unchecked by default (or simply make it so by default)!

     

    1
  • Marci Abraham

    +1  and pretty please with sugar on top :) It's so frustrating to have to remember to uncheck those boxes, and sometimes we aim and miss, and accidentally send it to the end user, unintentionally. This is a backend maintenance thing, not something end users need to be informed of. If they submitted 3 tickets in an hour, they don't really want three replies and don't need to know that we are doing clean up. I don't understand why the default is to send updates to end users - that's just confusing to them.

    I'm adding my comments here, because this appears to be the most recent thread on this issue, but given that it's been a request for over five years, there are probably other threads I haven't found yet. But I did find these:

    2013 - https://support.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/203437456-Setting-to-default-merge-notes-to-Private-

    2015 - https://support.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/204461208-Disable-Default-Notification-To-Customers-When-Merging-Tickets-

    And 9 months ago, this "solution" was given:

    https://support.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/115006254787-How-can-I-make-merged-tickets-comments-private-by-default-

    Um, no....switching ALL agent comments made by web to private creates a completely different nightmare for EVERY ticket, so this is not a solution in any way and should either be removed, or at least clarified (what the results will actually be). 

    Zendesk, can we please get some movement on this? It seems like such a simple thing. I know nothing is as simple as end users think, but 5 years to disable checkboxes by default? Many of us are also web developers and we know it's not that hard. :)

    2
  • Patrick Norsch

    +1 again on this. However, this request, like many others here, has fallen into the abyss of silence from Zendesk

    -1
  • Brian

    So when I unchecked these two boxes under "Tickets" it seemed to fix the default of these checkboxes when merging the tickets. I'm unclear of the consequences quite yet, but for now it seems to be working. Hope it helps others

     

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Powered by Zendesk