CCs receiving emails when ticket is merged

6 Comments

  • Nils Zwicker
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hey Marley,

    it is a normal function from Zendesk. You have to delete the CC manually.

    „If you have ticket CCs enabled:

    • You can merge two tickets with different requesters. The requester of the ticket you close with the merge is added as a CC to the new ticket.
    • If anyone was CC'd on an original ticket, they are also added as a CC on the merged ticket.“

    https://support.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/203690916-Merging-tickets

    Best Regards,
    Nils

    0
  • Diane Albert
    Comment actions Permalink

    I'm not 100% sure, but I think I've seen one party on a merge be added as the cc: before.

    In most cases when I merge, I make sure this box is unchecked because I just don't want folks to see that I'm doing that to a ticket.  I think it confuses the end user who usually sees my 'stuff' as emails.

    do you recall seeing that checkbox or was it someone else who did the merge?

    You may need to do some testing with an agent login and an external email - we have a special email account just for testing what happens with 'customer' emails.  It lets us see what an email will look like from their perspective, etc.

    0
  • Jessie Schutz
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hi Marley!

    Diane has the right of it here. When you uncheck the boxes next to "requester can see this comment", the auto-comments for the merge will be added as internal comments on the tickets, which means that neither the requester nor the CC'd parties will see the comments.

    Let us know if you have any other questions!

    0
  • Diane Albert
    Comment actions Permalink

    ahhh...but I just merged something today AND...the person who was the original requester in the ticket, became a CC on the ticket it was merged into. 

    If you happened to have that other ticket up, and were adding something to it, now your "new cc", gets an email when you click Submit on that ticket.

    [lightbulb goes on over head!!] 

    it's not the merge that sends it if the checkboxes are unchecked, but the act of adding that cc (in the merge)...and probably having that ticket up to make sure you're merging the correct ticket numbers into each other.

    D

    0
  • Nbabakov
    Comment actions Permalink

    Is it possible to choose every time whether you want to add cc from ticket to be merged to the ticket we want to merge into?

    What we have now is regardless 'Requester can see this comment' is enable or disabled all participants of merged ticket appear in new ticket cc. It takes time to remove all unnecessary or unwanted cc's and sometime it can even unleash some private information when you accidentally have not identified some address as a new added.

    0
  • Keith @ Zendesk
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hey there,


    There really isn't a way to have those CC's removed automatically.  You would just need to remove them before the Merge occurred.  

    Thanks!

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Powered by Zendesk