[COMPLETED] Web Widget Customization Options

完了

105 コメント

  • Marcos Korody

    Thank you for the updates @Aaron! These changes are very welcome. Looking forward to see further customization options for the support widget.

    cheers!

    0
  • Joshua Mark

    I implemented the widget today, then almost immediately took it back down and instead went with an SSO link. The user and email being user editable fields and the lack of customization were a deal breaker.

    If there was an SSO widget integration, the iframe would already have a session open and those fields could be done away with.

    The help button is huge compared to our existing support button. I don't see a technical reason why you can't have your own support button without having to use the hide / activate method calls in the api. The script could just as easily have those triggers attached to an element with `data-zendesk-trigger` or an onClick call.

    It wasn't apparent on the widget page that the search wouldn't work unless the help center articles were public. Finally, the articles appearing within the widget wasn't desirable. I feel that v.s. opening in a new tab should be a configurable option.

    That said, just having our own support button just being an SSO link works quite well, and the help centers customizability is awesome.

    0
  • James Stewart

    Hi Aaron -

    We too are really interested in using the web widget but the lack of a subject field makes communication back to the user really messy ... It would be awesome if this could be tidied up somehow!

    Thanks
    James

    1
  • Luis Berrocal

    Other than agreeing with most of the posts on this feature request I'd like to emphasize the need to be able to disable fields on the contact form. If we can pre-populate fields with values that are already there for us to use it'd be crucial to make sure that this data isn't editable. 

    This would eliminate those rare cases where user errors can happen.

    0
  • Zen Agent

    Hi Aaron!

    Turns out web widget does not work in landscape mode on tablets and mobile devices, only works in portrait mode. Will this be fixed in upcoming releases?

    Zain (ZZ)

    0
  • Aaron Cottrell

    Hi Zain,

    The Web Widget is intentionally disabled in landscape mode.

    We're at the stage, where we need to give some thought to scaling the appearance of the widget when there is less vertical screen space available.

     

    0
  • Gary Lavin

    Another vote for customization, instead of "How can we help?" I want to add a tip for searching our knowledgebase

    0
  • Andrew Bowman

    Just created a method to customize more than the default options here:

    https://support.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/207616307-Customize-the-Web-Widget-with-CSS

    0
  • Erica Wass
    Zendesk Product Manager

    Hi @andrew! Thanks for letting us know about this. You mentioned it, but I think it's important to note again, that we update the Web Widget code a couple of times a week and because customized CSS isn't a product feature, it could break at any time. 

    0
  • TylerArmstrong

    Hi @Erica!

    We are wondering if you have plans to include more options for positioning the Help Widget on screen. After going through the settings page, we are kind of discouraged to implement it seeing that right now you support left or right bottom position of the page.

    Are you planning to support having it on the right or the left middle side of the screen, too? preferably with a button design that looks good vertically. Having it there will definitely help us use it effectively without any hacks. Thanks!

    0
  • Erica Wass
    Zendesk Product Manager

    Hi @Brian. Thanks for writing. There are no definitive plans at this time but, if you could go into some more detail, I'm curious to know more about your thoughts and reasoning for why the lower right/left don't work for you and what you find your needs are.

    0
  • Kerry M

     

     

     

    We currently have 2 tabs for the old widgets for Zopim and Zendesk and like that it will be combined into 1, but we need to place them on the side of the web page like this.

    We also need the ability to change the text and color. Our color changes based on the color scheme our customer's select for their site.

     

    2
  • Erica Wass
    Zendesk Product Manager

    Hi @kerry:

    The current functionality of the Web Widget allows you to modify color of the Web Widget and you can choose a label of "Help" "Feedback" or "Support."

    At this time the placement options are bottom left and bottom right, but I'm eager to learn more about your site design needs for the middle-of-the-page tabs.

    Thanks,
    Erica

    0
  • Kerry M

    @Erica

    Maybe I should have explained the color better. Our customers are choosing their own screen colors for their website through us. We are a salon and spa software company as well as taking care of their POS needs, inventory, marketing, etc. So our customers customize the look of their web portal through us. When they change the color theme, it automatically updates the feedback color accordingly so it matches. We can't have a single color that works for everyone.

    And since the new widget is combining Support Forums with Chat it should be called Support / Live chat. That's why we would want to write whatever text we choose for the tab.

    I honestly don't understand why everytime Zendesk does an "Upgrade" features that existed and people were very happy using are removed and we are given LESS options for each Upgrade that comes out.

    This was no different than the forums when you came out with Help Center a couple of years ago and remove in Feature Request the ability to track which features were done, planned, answered, etc. This latest change allows those options to return with extra manual coding, but all historical information was lost AGAIN. And all embedeed vidoes in all forums were lost AGAIN. So we had to have over 2,000 forums and features manually updated by a staff of people. Each of your "Upgrades" costs us, your customer, thousands of dollars to get our sites working kind of like they did before these FORCED upgrades. Zendesk's lack of listening to their customer based about how important these types of issues are is getting annoying.

    We started with Zendesk when your company first started and lived through your growing pains. But as Zendesk has grown, it has become more limiting and most costly to continue using. And when customers are telling you that we would like something as simple as positioning a friggin button to be added because some person on high in Zendesk removed that option because of their limited knowledge of how your customers are using Zendesk, then you should take it seriously and made the changes. This is nuts!

    2
  • Erica Wass
    Zendesk Product Manager

    Thanks for the extra detail @kerry. It's really helpful as we think about future enhancements, etc. Erica

    0
  • Ray

    Just wanted to add a vote to this existing thread.

    We had to move over from the deprecated Feedback Tab to the new Web Widget and found the lack of customization options puzzling considering that a push is being made by Zendesk to transition over to the Web Widget.

    In order to fulfill our needs to customize the "Contact form button text" label and do a few stylistic adjustments, we had to use the CSS injection trick added by Andrew Bowman:

    https://support.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/207616307-Customize-the-Web-Widget-with-CSS

    At the very least, Zendesk should allow us to adjust the "Contact form button text" label from the admin area.

    A bit more about our use case, we have hidden the default "Help" button and are activating the Web Widget via JS.  We have also positioned the Web Widget in the top right-hand corner to fit our existing UI.

    0
  • Jason Hill

    We are new to Zendesk and I am amazed that the options for customising the widget are still so limited. This is a pretty fundamental requirement that needs to be addressed. Is this on the roadmap?

    0
  • Erica Wass
    Zendesk Product Manager

    HI @jason. It's something we're spending time thinking about for sure. I'd be eager to learn a bit more about the specific customizations you're looking for for use case. Thanks, Erica

    0
  • Drew F

    Hi I just wanted to add another vote in the mix.  We're very new to Zendesk but also a bit surprised at the lack of customization options for this.  We have previously been using PureChat and they have fantastic ability to customize text, position, extra buttons to grab attention, etc.  Currently, we can't use the widget from Zendesk because it interferes with our 'scroll to top' button located in the bottom right (which is common in many websites).  Anyways, we're very impressed with all other features but wanted to include another voice for potential development.

    0
  • Erica Wass
    Zendesk Product Manager

    Thanks for the feedback @drew. Have you tried the bottom left placement for the Web Widget? If that didn't work, can you tell me a bit more about where you would be wanting to put the launcher in light of your current design? Just above the Scroll to top? to the left?  The extra detail is useful for us as we think about these things and plan, etc. 

    0
  • Federico Olmus

    Hi!

    Having a customizable input text field would be great, it is currently "How can we help?".

    That copy is misleading for many of our users, they believe that they will instantly start a chat with an agent. Since we installed the widget the top most searched words without results are: Hello, Hola, Hi, speak with, etc... instead of real key words.

    Another solution for this widget is to have a button next to "live chat" where clients click on "read full article" and would be led to the knowledge base to read the complete text in a comfortable screen size, not the small widget.

    It will soon be a year since this request was submitted. Thanks for what has been implemented so far, please expedite the pending part of the request, many clients would benefit from it.

    Thank you.

    1
  • Drew F

    @erica - Just based on some of the layouts on certain pages of our site, the right side just happens to work better for us.  Ultimately, I think giving the user CSS control would probably give everyone the opportunity to customize as they like.  But even just a margin left or right field would allow us to push it horizontally where we would need it to go - we still like the bottom corners but would just need to get it out of the very corner.  

    0
  • Dave Birch

    For now, we're ripping out the widget and just using a simple email link. It doesn't seem like customization (at least the sort we were hoping for) is coming down the pipe anytime soon.

    1
  • Sarah Berkowitz

    We are very new to Zendesk, and I'm floored at the lack of customization to the widget.  It looks terrible on our site, and as we are a startup with a small team, our developers have limited time to design or make any customizations to a widget - quite a low priority. 

    1
  • Craig Willis

    Adding another vote for more customization, however, my specific requires is to have the ability to add the Priority field for when customers are submitting cases.

    0
  • Erica Wass
    Zendesk Product Manager

    Thanks @craig. Can you tell me more about what the end result you are looking for with regard to the usage of the priority field and the web widget? 

    0
  • Craig Willis

    We just want our customers to be able to set whether the priority of the case is Urgent, High, Normal or Low.

    As they can when they submit a request.

    Craig

    0
  • Erica Wass
    Zendesk Product Manager

    Thanks Craig. I recommend adding that as a separate request, if you could, so that we can continue to gauge interest and feedback in that specific feature.

    0
  • Jon Bradshaw

    Erica, just throwing my hat into the ring. We'd really like to be able to customize the web widget via CSS. Changing it's shape/size and look/feel would be great. =)

    1
  • Eric Newbauer

    I received today's email from Zendesk kindly prodding me to migrate from the Feedback tab to the Web Widget. I've come to expect Zendesk-related chores to be painless so I figured I'd go ahead and get this one out of the way. I'm a few disappointed hours into trying this migration and to make a long story short: I'm now just going to hold out with bare knuckles as long as possible to make this switch. I hope there are more customization possibilities when I get back around to it!

    There are too many expected customization choices missing (as others have already pointed out), and although there are CSS mods that can be used to close the gap, they're not sanctioned by Zendesk and could break as a consequence of newer web widget code that apparently comes out twice a week or so.

    I think there's going to be a lot of resistance getting people to go quietly away from the Feedback tab unless you've matched much of its current feature set.

    Since you're asking for input, here's what I'd like to see based on what I did before throwing in the towel and deciding to just complain instead:

    (I'm hiding the web widget button until the user clicks our own button on our support page.)

    • Once our button is clicked, I want the form to be displayed somewhere other than bottom left or right. Middle, per quadrant, top 1/3 centered, where the Feedback tab shows up now, I don't know -- just not only bottom left or right!
    • A way to change the title of the web widget (because we put our hours of operation in the title)
    • A way to change the placeholder text for input fields
    • A way to style the form via CSS (so that it stands out from the page, because currently it's really easy to just not even see it, especially since it only shows up in the bottom corner)
    0

サインインしてコメントを残してください。

Powered by Zendesk