"Requester can see this comment" default setting

28 コメント

  • Karlo de Leon
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Hey Zendesk, here's a question..

    According to your data.. do most customers prefer to have this checked or unchecked? Coz we very much want this unchecked, and I dont see a reason why you would want to have a merged case seen by customers.

    You may think it's unimportant. Yes it seems insignificant, but it's one less thing to think about. Process wise, it's just a nuisance to have to make sure that's not checked. I hope you reconsider.

    2
  • Quinn Souther
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Signal boosting this, Pedro. Our team would love to skip the part of the Zendesk training process where we tell people to make sure to uncheck both boxes when merging. 

    1
  • Lu
    コメントアクション Permalink

    We're in the same boat here at Pinterest. We'd love to see this addressed.

    1
  • Petri Onnela
    コメントアクション Permalink

    This help us also.

    1
  • Dan Bowman
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Bump from Humble Bundle too. Every company I've worked for has had this as a pain point.

    Would love to have this unchecked by default.

    Probably the best solution would be to have a setting for it that gives the option "When merging tickets, set the default comment to (dropdown options) 1. Public 2. Private.

    1
  • Joe Fedric
    コメントアクション Permalink

    +1 from Topaz Labs.  I concur with @Dan's suggestion to give us the option.  

    1
  • Arjun Mahadeva
    コメントアクション Permalink

    I agree that this should be a configurable option, as Dan Bowman suggested.

    David's suggestion is great, but most of our replies are public, yet all of our merges are private (due to the "reply all" duplicates issue - similar to https://support.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/115007483628--Reply-All-Duplicate-Tickets). 

    1
  • Arjun Mahadeva
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Hi Nicole,

    This occurs everyday. Due to the "reply all" duplicates issue I linked above, we regularly have to merge tickets. End-users may get confused and may assume we are closing their ticket without a resolution if we merge with public replies. The option to default the merges as private notes would help avoid human error as the original poster suggested, and of course save time. 

    Thanks for your help!

    1
  • Pedro dos Santos
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Hi Nicole,

    It's a daily occurrence for us at ActiveCampaign, I don't have specifics on the amount of merges that occur per day, but easily over 30+ times per day.

    There's pretty much no scenario for us where it's needed for the requester to see the comment about the merge, what we do is:

    1 - Select the merge option
    2 - Untick "request can see this comment" option
    3 - Merge the tickets
    4 - Continue to address the issue in the ticket that the now closed ticket(s) was(were) merged into

    1
  • Lu
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Following up, we are currently testing a third-party app (https://www.zendesk.com/apps/support/quick-merge/) that has improved the merge process end-to-end, including defaulting to *not* notifying the user when merging tickets. Working with the developer, Cedric F. Jacob, has been smooth as well. The one downside is it doesn't allow you to merge tickets in any other state than Open (we sometimes like to merge tickets that are anything but Closed).

    1
  • Samson Brock
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Upvote!

    1
  • Jamie Cormack
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Some of our team are also looking for this option.

    0
  • Nicole - Community Manager
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Hi all - 

    Can you please share the frequency of how often this happens for you? 

    0
  • Lu
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Hi Nicole,

    About 30 tickets/day where we uncheck the "Requester can see this comment" 100% of the time. Our peak month was 73/day. We limit the number of times someone can write in per day, so this number would be higher otherwise.

    Thanks for collecting this info. Looking forward to seeing this prioritized sometime soon.

    0
  • Jamie Cormack
    コメントアクション Permalink

    The impact on our support and IT teams is not too bad but our sales guys use Zendesk as a conversation tool and they very rarely want the customer informed when they merge tickets so it happens daily that they have to untick.

    0
  • Nicole - Community Manager
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Thanks for sharing, all. That's really helpful information. 

    0
  • Daire O Broin
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Just a temp here, but obviously this feature is very desirable since Pinterest and Humble Bundle want it too!

     

    I'd like to mirror Arjun Mahadeva 's point - I was able to make the boxes unticked as the default, but then all replies became private as default consequentially

    0
  • Nicole - Community Manager
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Thanks for sharing, Lu. 

    0
  • Layna Smith
    コメントアクション Permalink

    This is a daily issue for us as well. We often need to merge tickets, and never want the end-user to be aware of this merge. Would be great to be able to change this default without impacting default comment mode.

    0
  • Yunus Unia
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Dear Zendesk, we are coming up on nearly three years since this was requested, and some representatives of well known companies have posted in here asking for it.

    When will we receive this option?

    0
  • Nicole - Community Manager
    コメントアクション Permalink

    I’m checking in with the product team to verify, but I do not believe that this has been prioritized above other requests at this point in time.

    While we certainly recognize everything that has been mentioned in this conversation and both appreciate and understand everyone’s feedback, we receive hundreds of requests per week and can only prioritize a few dozen for development each quarter.

    When weighing these priorities, we look at what will have the most significant business impact for the greatest number of users. We determine this by looking at the number of votes and comments in the community, as well as feedback that we receive on support calls, through Success representatives and account executives, and more. Longevity of a request in the community is not a primary data point, however. Just because something was asked for a while back doesn’t mean it’s highly valuable to many customers.

    We’ll continue to collect comments and votes on this request to see if a significant need emerges, but for the time being the Quick Merge app that Lu mentioned above is the best option for dealing with some of these challenges.

    0
  • Allan Dion Leo
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Joining the discussion here. We also have the same issue, leading to manually have to uncheck this, and sometimes persons forget having customers ending up with a unnecessary mail.  

    Voting for an default option too.....

    0
  • Nicole - Community Manager
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Hey Samson,

    The way to officially register an up vote is to use the voting buttons on the original post. Thanks!

    0
  • Oliver Tietze
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Hmh. Paying >$100 a month for a third-party App just because Zendesk fails to include a "set default" function? Really?

     

    Has someone successfully added a tampermonkey script or other workaround to automatically manipulate the 'source_is_public" and "target_is_public" checkboxes? If so.. please share your insights.

    We also need this about 80+ times a day, and errors are frequent due to high ticket volume :(

     

    Regards

    Oliver

    0
  • Maura Kean
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Hoping to see this feature introduced soon!

    0
  • Michael Southwell
    コメントアクション Permalink

    We would also find the ability to set this default setting incredible useful! Especially to mitigate the damage caused by an accidental merge of two calls from different clients, seeing as it appears it is unlikely that ZenDesk are going to implement any "undo" merge function.

    0
  • Conza
    コメントアクション Permalink

    Wow... not going to hold my breathe! 

    Need this as well - because when merging - if accidentally don't untick, or my team don't - it sends a link with hyperlink to the ticket in the help centre. 

    We only have internal docs at the moment - so it guides customers to login, and can see all that! Terrible. 

    0

ログインしてコメントを残してください。

Powered by Zendesk