When merging two contacts, the system decides which contact will be the main contact and creates new fields with a # (e.g. Name#1, E-mail#2) to merge the information together. This creates new fields on the contact form on the back-end, but these fields are also shown when creating a completely new contact. When you decide to delete the fields on the back-end, it will also delete information in it. Bottomline is it creates a lot of pollution and junk data in the system.
Solution: upon merging two contacts, show a pop up that shows both records that you are about to merge, let the user decide which one will be the main record via a checkbox and then let the user decide what data needs to be where, via e.g: drag and drop data in the right fields or copy and paste. In this way, it does not create new fields and you can immediately decide what information you want to take over and use.
Please sign in to leave a comment.