Context: I've unintentionally selected 'clone dataset' when I 'clone dashboard'.
1) When I click on 'Datasets' - 'All', I could not see the cloned datasets that I just made (w/ editor access). However, my teammate who has admin access can see that directly. How could I see the full datasets list without being an admin?
2) If I delete the cloned dataset, will the cloned dashboard get messed up? i.e. when I choose 'clone dashboard' and 'clone datasets' simultaneously - does the copied dashboard now link to the copied datasets only?
Re: Got my own answer after Live Chat with Zendesk Support
1) Only Admins can see the full list of datasets in your account. If you, the editor, clone a Dataset, it will be considered custom, which means your Admin needs to provide you access even if you are the one who cloned the dataset.
2) Select both 'Clone dashboard' and 'Clone datasets' at the same time will not create an automatic link between the two. The dataset is a separate creation. All the visualization in dashboard are fully dependent on the queries used. If the queries are linked to original datasets, deleting the cloned dataset will not create any problem to the cloned dashboard or any other dashboards. Only when new queries are made based on the cloned datasets, deletion could cause problem.
Please sign in to leave a comment.