"Requester can see this comment" default setting

66 Comments

  • Dave Dyson
    Zendesk Community Manager

    Hi Anita Nayob and CJ Johnson

    We recently updated the strings for this setting, from "non-email conversations are public by default", to (as CJ's screenshot shows), to “Agent comments on all tickets are public by default". We made this change because the old name was misleading – we respect this setting for email channels too (not just non-email).

    I'll add a note to Giles' comment to help prevent future confusion.

    -1
  • CJ Johnson

    Thanks for the clarification on the name, but can you confirm what this setting should effect in relation to the default settings when merging two tickets? That's the crux of this issue/question here, I've got turned off and I still have to un-click the buttons when merging to prevent the customer from being spammed about the merge. However, the thread is saying that my settings should now *not* require unchecking every time you merge.  Am I experiencing a bug, or does this setting have no effect on the default behavior of merging being set to public by default? 

    0
  • Dave Dyson
    Zendesk Community Manager
    Ah, gotcha, thanks for clarifying, CJ -- I was so focused on solving the mystery of that phrasing change that I didn't answer the core question. 
     
    I've been able to confirm on my two test accounts (one with Agent Workspace enabled, the other without), that deselecting the "Agent comments on all tickets are public by default" checkbox (when Agent Workspace is enabled) or "Agent comments via web are public by default" (when Agent Workspace is disabled), that the "Requester can see this comment" checkbox when merging tickets is deselected by default as well.
     
    I made sure to scroll to the bottom of the Tickets > Settings page in Admin Center and clicked Save, and then when I returned to Support, I refreshed that tab as well. In both accounts, I'd go to Admin Center, changed the setting there and Save, return to Support and refresh that tab, and when I went to merge tickets the checkbox there would obey whatever I'd set in Admin Center. It sounds like you're seeing something different, but can you verify that you're following the same procedure I listed above?
    0
  • CJ Johnson

    Dave Dyson Thanks! I had the setting off, not on. On does do what is described, but I think there's some confusion because the nature of this setting changed pretty drastically over the course of this comment thread. Originally, this setting appears to have only impacted the default public/private status of messaging tickets, not every ticket that comes in, which is what it does now. As a result, I don't really think that this setting delivers at what this feature is asking for, because it impacts tickets pretty heavily in ways unrelated to this request. 

    I don't want to make all my agents have to manually flip the messaging box to "public comment" every time they reply to a ticket, and I also don't want the checkboxes for merging to be pre-checked. With this setting as it is now, it seems like you can have one or the other, but not both. It's not really desirable for every ticket to pushed into internal mode by default constantly, just for a trade off of merging requiring two less clicks. Either way we set it, we're stuck doing a lot of busy work of un-doing pre-set settings. 

    1
  • Nick Ryan

    Hi Zendesk team.  Agent Workspace is also enabled for my company but we also can't see the setting you reference.  Would you please provide a solution in this thread for all to view?  It would be extremely helpful for my company to have this setting so we can disable it.

    1
  • Dave Dyson
    Zendesk Community Manager
    Hi Nick, welcome to the community!
     
    Can you verify with your admins that Agent Workspace is enabled on your account? From this end, it doesn't appear to be enabled. See Activating and deactivating the Zendesk Agent Workspace
    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Powered by Zendesk