Best practices for deleting groups

Have more questions? Submit a request

6 Comments

  • Max McDaniel
    Comment actions Permalink

    When a group is deleted, are all of the group macros & views deleted as well?

    0
  • Brett - Community Manager
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hi Max,

    Macros associated with a group will remain, however, you'll need to go edit the macro to make it available to a new group or all agents on the account. It will still reference the old group ID until you make that change.

    As for views, once you delete the group the view will then be made available to the first group available under Admin>Manage>People>Groups. Most likely you will want to edit that view as well once that change has been made.

    Hope this helps!

    0
  • Gavin F
    Comment actions Permalink

    What happens to closed tickets in deleted groups?  I see the note that the assignee won't change, but what group do those tickets now belong to?  What happens if a requester responds to one of those closed tickets in a deleted group, and a new ticket gets created?  Where does it go?

    0
  • Gail L
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hi Gavin,

    The group on the closed ticket doesn't change, the record of it is preserved for reporting on historical data. 

    What exactly happens to the routing on the follow up ticket would depend on how you have your account set up. If you've got a business rule that is setting a different group for the tickets, it would land there. If there isn't a business rule setting the group then it will flow into your overall unassigned queue and then end up in default group of the assignee when they take the ticket.

    If you need follow up tickets to go to a specific group you can use the condition "ticket: channel is closed ticket" as part of an assignment trigger to get them to go to the best spot automatically.

     

    1
  • Matt Schmotzer
    Comment actions Permalink

    Is there a way to bulk delete groups? I provisioned the app with AAD objects, and the default provisioning included every single group, over 3k. I have since stopped routine provisioning from including AAD groups, but now I have 3k useless, orphaned groups in Zen that are just cluttering the 'Assignee' dropdown. 

     

    0
  • Chris Bulin
    Comment actions Permalink

    Matt Schmotzer there's no bulk delete endpoint for groups, but you could program a list of your groups and send them through group delete one at a time. Here's the documentation for deleting groups from the API: https://developer.zendesk.com/rest_api/docs/support/groups#delete-group

    The UI also only lets you do one at a time :(

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Powered by Zendesk