Managing groups

Return to top

19 Comments

  • Rhys Edlin

    Hey team,

    Is there an easy way to check if any business rule is linked to the group you are about to delete?  Or do you have to go into each type of business rule and manually check each rule for that group?

    Deleting a group has implications of course. Any business rules you set up using the group you deleted will no longer function properly...

    0
  • Josh
    Zendesk Customer Care
    Hi Rhys!
     
    Thank you for reaching out to us. For this kind of scenario, you will really need to check if there is a trigger associated with the group. We currently do not have a way easier than this BUT I can say your feedback is great and if you have the time please post it HERE.
     
    Best, 
    0
  • Tom Rees

    Hello,

    If a ticket is closed, I assume that deleting a group won't affect this and should still be able to be reported on?

    Best Wishes

    0
  • Gabriel

    Hi Thomas,

    Yes correct, Closed tickets are locked. They cannot be reopened or updated in any way. So in your case if a ticket is closed and you deleted the assigned group it won't affect the ticket and will still be able to report on. I hope that answer your question. 

    0
  • Stacy Win

    If a group is deleted, can agents with a role that can only view tickets in their group, see the closed tickets? These agents were part of the group that was deleted.

    We updated the agent ticket group strategy. And agents lost access to tickets in the "old" group. 

    0
  • DJ Buenavista Jr.
    Zendesk Customer Care
    Hi Stacy,
     
    Unfortunately closed tickets will not be available to those agents when the group was deleted. Since their permission is can only view tickets in their group, they cannot view those tickets since the group was deleted. Tickets will be unassigned from that group once it was deleted.
     
    Thank you and have a wonderful day ahead!
     
     
    Kind regards,
    0
  • Stacy Win

    DJ Buenavista Jr.

    That is a horrible design. We recently changed the group structure and now the agents lost access to all the tickets that had access to prior. And there is no resolution to get them access back. 

    If you cannot update closed tickets, then when groups are deactivated agents should keep access they had prior to the change. In my personal opinion.

     

    1
  • Stacy Win

    Like why can't groups be deactivated like everything else (views, triggers, automations, macros). This way agents could still retain access to closed tickets they should be able to see. And the business is still able to make changes to the group structure to support the current needs.

    1
  • DJ Buenavista Jr.
    Zendesk Customer Care
    Hi Stacy,
     
    Unfortunately, tickets with Closed status cannot be modified or edited anymore. This is how the Zendesk ticket function was built, and it's a native function. 
     
    Also, those tickets with Closed status that were assigned before will no longer be part of that group since the group has been deleted. Now, since you agents only has access to view tickets on their own groups, technically they will not be able to view other tickets and those closed tickets will not be re-assigned or cannot be re-assigned since they are already closed. You can check our article, Can I edit closed tickets? for more information about this.
     
    Thank you and have a wonderful day ahead!
     
     
    Kind regards,
    0
  • Stacy Win

    DJ Buenavista Jr. - I get the functionality the way it was built. I'm saying this is a really bad user experience for accounts that restrict agent access to tickets by the groups they are in. Zendesk should look into making the software better for this use case.

    Option 1 delete the group no longer used and agents lose access to tickets

    Option 2 keep groups that are no longer needed. 1)possibility of agents incorrectly assigning to the "old" group 2) cannot clean up the long list of groups

    0
  • Dave Dyson
    Zendesk Community Manager
    Hi Stacy,
     
    For the best visibility to our product team, can you post your idea about deactivating Groups to our Feedback - Ticketing System (Support), using this template to format your feedback? That way, other users can upvote your post and add their own use cases. Thanks!
    0
  • Stacy Win

    Dave Dyson thanks I posted the idea to the Feedback Ticketing System (Support)

    Didn't see the link to the template, but I think I got all those details in the request, just in a slightly different order.

    0
  • Dave Dyson
    Zendesk Community Manager
    Thanks, Stacy!
    0
  • CJ Johnson

    It would be great to mention that if a group is made private, it can *never* be made un-private. 

    0
  • Dave Dyson
    Zendesk Community Manager
    Hi CJ -
     
    It actually does say that:
     

    d. (Enterprise only) Click Make this group private to make the group private and convert all tickets assigned to the group to private. This can't be undone.

     
     
    0
  • Luke Aleo

    We had created many groups when we first started using Zendesk, but we have since refined our groups. When using Zendesk Explore we can still see these old groups which have been deleted. Is there a way to remove these references from Zendesk Explore? They are already removed from Support. 

    0
  • Gabriel
    Zendesk Customer Care
    Hello Luke!

    I hope all is well! This is probably due to the fact that these groups have been used/applied to tickets in the past. In this case, Explore will bring you the options as long as the group is associated with the data set you are using. The only native way to remove that would be to delete your past tickets associated with these groups, but I would not suggest that as you may still want to report on them in the future. 

    I hope this answers your question! 
    0
  • Stacy Win

    Luke Aleo as Gabriel stated since the groups were probably used on past tickets, the group exists in the Explore Data Set. 

    There are two ways to help filter out the deleted groups. Can create groups for the deleted groups and use that grouping to exclude all the old groups from the report. Or you can create sets that exclude the deleted group. See this article for details

    0
  • Kaila Holt

    I made a group private, but now it won't give me the option to unprivate it. How do I do that?

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Powered by Zendesk