Permanently deleting a knowledge base article

Have more questions? Submit a request

16 Comments

  • Chris Stock
    Comment actions Permalink

    When an article is deleted are any inline article attachments also deleted?

    0
  • Mark Gil Maramo
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hi Chris,

    All inline article attachments will also be deleted and will not be accessible anymore. When you access the image links, it will redirect you to an error page. 

     

    1
  • Byron Norris
    Comment actions Permalink

    Can we permanently delete articles through the API?

    0
  • Flavia Bass
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hi Byron,

    I checked for solution using the API but it would only archive the article the same way as it would from the users interface.  Unfortunately there is no option to permanently delete articles at the moment. We do have a article "Deleting an article from your knowledge base" , I hope that help. 

     

    0
  • Greg Linenger
    Comment actions Permalink

    I followed the steps above, no error messages on delete. But when I go back to my home page of the Guide, they are still listed. When I click on them, they say they are gone?  When does the link get removed.  I did refresh on my browser, no change.

    1
  • Brett - Community Manager
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hey Greg,

    It sounds like these links may be hard-coded into your Guide theme. Is your Guide page public by chance so I could take a look? If so, feel free to send me a link as well as the title of the article that should no longer be showing up on your end.

    Thanks!

    1
  • Rosemary Mayers
    Comment actions Permalink

    I'm having the same problem still showing even though I have archive and deleted

    https://dreamhelp.providence.org/hc/en-us/categories/360001766894-Knowledgebase

    test article 2 and test article should not be showing anymore

    I have closed browser and clear cache too

    Please advice?

    Rosemary

    0
  • Brett - Community Manager
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hey Rosemary,

    I'm actually being directed to your login page when I try navigating to the link you provided.

    If you've deleted the article, what happens when you try clicking on the title to open it up?

    Does it take you to the article page or does it error out?

    Let me know!

    0
  • Rosemary Mayers
    Comment actions Permalink

    Well it managed to fix itself, maybe cleared out cache or something? I have another question, if I want to restore an "earlier/previous" version how do I do it? 

    Thanks,

    Rosemary

    0
  • Brett - Community Manager
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hey Rosemary,

    If you're trying to restore an archived article you can use the following article: Viewing and restoring archived articles

    To restore a previous version of an article you can use these instructions: Viewing article revisions and restoring a previous version (Guide Professional and Enterprise)

    Hope this helps!

    0
  • Abigail Iliesi
    Comment actions Permalink

    I am having the same issue as @Greg: "I followed the steps above, no error messages on delete. But when I go back to my home page of the Guide, they are still listed. When I click on them, they say they are gone? When does the link get removed.  I did refresh on my browser, no change." I do want to mention that I imported the Role_Theme from zendesklabs/themes Github repo, so maybe that's part of my issue?

    Since nothing is public, I've attached an image below to show you what I'm seeing on my end.

    I properly deleted my "Test" article with no errors or issues, so the "Accounts & Authentication" section is completely empty... This means that "Accounts & Authentication" shouldn't even be visible in the Help Center at all, yet it's somehow visible and displaying a deleted link. *Note: this occurs when in Preview role: End-user. The "Test" link does NOT display when in Preview role: Manager. The "Self-Service" category itself is not visible to Anonymous, and Agents can't see it because it's empty, so I'm not sure what's going on within those preview roles. 

    *Edit: Wanted to add one more image to show the html displayed by Google Chrome's inspect element:

    I tried a hard refresh, but the issue persists. Please advise.

    1
  • Abigail Iliesi
    Comment actions Permalink

    My comment above says "pending approval". I think that writing "H3llo" may have triggered the content moderation tool... Just want to make sure it gets looked at.

    0
  • Jennifer Rowe
    Comment actions Permalink

    Thanks for letting us know, Abigail. I approved the comment.

    1
  • Brett - Community Manager
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hey Abigail,

    If the article is still showing even after you've permanently deleted the article then the theme is most likely the issue here.

    I did some testing in my own account with the standard Copenhagen theme and the article was immediately removed after I refreshed my browser. It may be worth previewing the Copenhagen theme to see if the article still shows on your end. See Previewing your Help Center theme for more information.

    Otherwise, you'll want to have your developers take a look at your theme to see where the issue is coming from there.

    I hope this points you in the right direction!

    1
  • Abigail Iliesi
    Comment actions Permalink

    @Brett Just wanted to give an update.

    The issue resolved itself over night! The"Accounts & Authentication" section is no longer visible, nor displaying a deleted link. It seems like there's just some lag time between the delete event and the invisibility/link-deletion trigger.

    Thanks for taking a look!

    0
  • Brett - Community Manager
    Comment actions Permalink

    That's awesome to hear Abigail :)

    Appreciate the update!

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Powered by Zendesk