How do I reduce the number of agent seats on my subscription?

Return to top

55 Comments

  • Esteban Celestino

    We did the above steps but the subscription was not update. Our account executive told us that we had to give 30 days notice! It is an abusive rule!!!

    4
  • Oldrich Rezek

    In my case I cannot even decrease the number. It is telling me to contact support and when I do so they refer me to their finance team. It is like scum. You can increase and pay but not decrease.

    11
  • Cheyenne Trommels - Oorebeek

    Same here; we cannot reduce and the contact support team hasn't replied in 26 days! Meanwhile we keep paying for unused seats.

    2
  • Brett Bowser
    Zendesk Community Manager
    Hey Cheyenne,
     
    Thanks for bringing this to our attention and I thank you for your patience on the matter. It looks like your AE responded to your ticket about 30 minutes ago and is actively working to get this issue resolved.
     
    Feel free to respond to that ticket if you have any additional questions or concerns. 
     
    Cheers!
    -4
  • Tom Shaddock

    This needs be available via the Manage Subscription section - we can increase the seats but not decrease them without going through one of your support reps, smells very fishy to me.

    6
  • Cheyenne Trommels - Oorebeek

    Fishy for sure Tom Shaddock, I've been busy trying to downgrade our seats since March... As you can see above, I only get general replies that 'someone is probably working on it'.

    4
  • Brett Bowser
    Zendesk Community Manager
    Hey Tom and Cheyenne,
     
    I assure you there are no ulterior motives when it comes to downgrading your plan ore removing agent seats from your account. Typically the wait times come down to the volume of tickets our Customer Care or Account Executives are dealing with. 
     
    If either of you are trying to get adjustments made to your account right now but haven't heard back I'm happy to look into it for you to see if we can get your request expedited.
     
    Let me know!
    -7
  • James Johansen

    Understand that when you go to adjust the number of seats you are asked to contact support, it doesn't appear to something that the owner does without the assistance of support. This should NOT be this difficult.

    5
  • Dave Dyson
    Hi James, and welcome to the community!
     
    It does appear that your account is sales-assisted, so as the article above states, you would need to contact your account representative in order to change the number of seats (unlike self-service accounts). There are generally reasons why an account is set to sales-assisted, and your account representative can explain your situation if you contact them.
    -2
  • AlMoahal AlHadith Co

    Hello,

    We have been informed by our Zendesk Account Manager that we are not allowed to reduce number of seats in our yearly subscription. Our current annual subscription has 16 sell and 9 support seats but our requirement has reduce to 0 sell and 13 support. We have contacted Zendesk Account Manager but we have outrightly been told that change in subscription is not possible unless we inform Zendesk 30 days prior to subscription expiry date. If this is Zendesk policy, it definitely does not cater to customer demand.

    We were also planning to upgrade Enterprise plan from the current Professional plan however we were told that even in this case the plan can be upgraded with additional financial impact whether the number of agents are reduced, increased or kept the same. Is this the Zendesk policy that we cannot reduce the number licenses or change combination of sell/support licenses based on our requirements unless this is communicated with Zendesk one month before subscription expiry for our yearly contract?

    We have a pressing need to adjust the number of licenses based on various Zendesk services but it is not being allowed to us. 

    4
  • Brett Bowser
    Zendesk Community Manager
    Hey AlMoahal,
     
    Unfortunately this isn't something that we can help with here in the community so I would recommend following up with your account manager in the ticket you have open with them. It looks like they did respond to you in that ticket so if you just want to reply back to that email they should be able to answer any additional questions you may have. 
     
    Apologies for not being able provide more assistance here.
    -1
  • AlMoahal AlHadith Co

    We are being forced to continue with our current licenses without any flexibility on Zendesk's end to change the number of agents as per our requirements. With such arrangements and inflexibility, we are seriously considered to not continue with Zendesk in future beyond this current contract.

    3
  • Lana Jovic

    Same here; we cannot reduce!  Contacted customer support in August 2022 and they did nothing. We contacted again on November 3, 2022, and still nothing, the ticket is open.
    At first, agent Derek Grejczyk put it as solved, so when I asked them why he apologized and said it was a mistake and returned it to open.
    Smells very fishy to me.

    1
  • Brett Bowser
    Zendesk Community Manager
    Hey Lana,

    Thanks for bringing this to our attention! I've double checked the ticket you have open and it looks like the team is actively working on getting your account adjusted as requested. They will follow up with you soon with more information :)  Appreciate your patience and let me know if you have any other questions for me!
    -2
  • Галкин Евгений

    cannot reduce seats!

    my ticket 11107462 is opened about 2 weeks and no any reactions from zendesk. 

    2
  • Lana Jovic

    Brett Bowser
    I didn't get any answer, the ticket is still open. 30 days have passed since your reply here. Last activity is changed in the ticket, but without a reply.

    2
  • Brett Bowser
    Zendesk Community Manager
    Hey Галкин, I've reached out internally to see if our renewals team can follow up with you ASAP. Thanks for the heads up!

    Lana, I've bumped the priority of your ticket and reached out to your rep to see if we can get a response back soon.
     
    Thanks again for your patience!
    -2
  • Mitchell Cole

    I am also having this problem. 

    I have had 5 different tickets to try and reduce my seats. I have been trying to reduce our MONTHLY subscription since November. I have talked with account representatives, chat agents, and regular tickets. Everybody says something will happen and nothing ever does. I have already been overcharged for December (I gave more than 30 days' notice on this reduction) and it looks like I am about to be overcharged for January. 

    Reading all the other comments on this thread, all having the same issue, I am also having to agree that this does "seem fishy". 

    1
  • Brett Bowser
    Zendesk Community Manager
    Hey Mitchell,
     
    It looks like you have a ticket open with us and they are now working on getting your account adjusted. Appreciate you bringing this to our attention and apologies for any frustration this has caused you. 

    Let us know if there's anything else I can help with in the meantime!
    -1
  • Mark Rothfield

    The UI now states that to reduce agent licenses I need to contact support, so this article would appear to be out of date.

    -1
  • Allyssa

    Issue Still Here: Unfair Cancellation Rule for Yearly Plan

    Hey everyone, we're on a yearly plan that ends in [October 2023], and on 6 April 2023, we accidentally bought two more license seats than we need. We just want to cancel and get a refund.

    Zendesk's account manager informed us of the current policy, which requires canceling 30 days before the plan ends. However, this doesn't seem fair for us yearly subscribers, as it makes us lose over 6 months of fees. We're asking Zendesk to cancel the extra seats and give us a refund. Any help or advice from the community and company reps would be great. Thanks!

    0
  • Debbie

    Don't waste your time. Mine has been "pending" account manager response for more than a year, and I've been following up regularly with screenshots. It seems they are purposely avoiding any reductions or cancellations. Just cancel your credit card to stop this.

    1
  • Erwin Elloso
    Hello Allyssa,
     
    I've gone ahead and created a ticket on your behalf as well so we can look into this further.
     
    Appreciate you bringing this to our attention!
    0
  • Michael Simpson

    Brett Bowser - seems like you're the one to get things done around here. Can you get some attention on my ticket? I just opened it, but I don't want this to leak into the next billing cycle. Thanks in advance.

    1
  • Michael Simpson

    Brett Bowser Elissa Tikalsky - any chance you can help me with this today? This is exactly what folks are talking about. Ticket opened/wanting to reduce licenses before next billing cycle -- no response from Zendesk. Please handle this.

    0
  • Pam Johnson

    I created ticket few days back to reduce our agent count and some questions regarding existing tickets and KB articles of agents that we plan to remove. No response yet. Trying to reduce agent count shows message that we need contact support. But support never repond

    1
  • Paul

    2nd billing cycle now and I'm still paying for 2 additional seats despite requests to support for a reduction. The advice on this page is wrong and you guys have no excuse for the shoddy support. You claim its not a scam yet the number of complaints on here says otherwise. I want a refund on the two months of 2 seats you're charging us.

    3
  • Ttaylor

    I have been trying to reduce our seats for two months. I have reached out seven times and still haven't received any response. And meanwhile, I continue to be billed for the seats I do not need. Ticket 11725461 was opened and then closed the same day I submitted it. You can't even call their HQ offices and try to speak with someone. My account manager seems to change monthly so I have no idea who it even is. My next correspondence will be to the Better Business Bureau to report the company.

    3
  • Stephen Wilson

    I have been trying to get our agent seats reduced since May and supposedly in June they completed it however we have been overcharged every month since then. Got as far as completing the docusign for the reduction and then waiting a month to see they rep supposedly completed the request but nothing. I keep requesting help and have emailed our account manager and their supervisor directly a few times with no luck. We have been overcharged thousands of dollars at this point and are at a loss here Zendesk...whats going on

    2
  • Brett Bowser
    Zendesk Community Manager

    Michael Simpson - appreciate the kind words! I'm going to create a ticket on your behalf and escalate this to our dedicated team that will work with you to get your plan adjusted.

    Pam Johnson, Paul, and Ttaylor same as the above. I'll be creating tickets for you so we can dig into this further and follow up with the appropriate teams to make sure you're all taken care of on your end.

    You'll each receive an email shortly stating your ticket has been created so feel free to share any additional information you have there. 

    Stephen Wilson I believe I responded to you in another thread and double checked on the ticket I opened for you. It looks like you got a response yesterday and we are currently processing the refund for those overcharges. Apologies for the inconvenience and thank you so much for bringing this to our attention!. 

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Powered by Zendesk