Best practices for removing agents

Return to top

11 Comments

  • Sarah Sabater

    There is a double negative in the statement calling out a critical piece  in this guidance. 

    It's imperative that we downgrade first and then suspend:

    Note: Suspending an agent's profile will not not automatically remove them if the number of agent seats is decreased. You must downgrade the agent first.

     

    0
  • Brett Bowser
    Zendesk Community Manager

    Hey Sarah,

    Thanks for the heads up! I've updated the article and removed the extra "not".

    Appreciate you taking the time to share this with us :)

    0
  • Daniël Nieuwendijk

    first downgrade and then suspend the agent's account

    Is there any reason for this order of operations? They appear irrelevant to me, but maybe I'm missing something. In other words: is the result different if you first suspend, then downgrade?

    I'm asking because I want to downgrade an Agent to a Light Agent to not hurt Explore reports, but our contract is currently still waiting to be upgraded to one containing Light Agents. So, I need to wait to downgrade, but I could already suspend.

    0
  • Neil
    Zendesk Customer Care

    Hey Daniël,

    Suspending the user is just part of the safety procedure to make sure the agent (former) will not be able to access any data within the Zendesk instance.

    In your case, it seems the agent will still require access to your account so you may opt to not suspend the agent as he/she will be downgraded to a Light agent role.

    Suspending the user will only restrict the access of the agent but will not make any impact to the reporting. The best choice is to wait for the new plan to be implemented and then downgrade the agent's role.

    0
  • Angelique Paulus

    In the instruction there is remark about reauthorizing apps. Is that menu path mentioned still correct? If yes what could be the reason I'm not seeing that option on an user profile that has installed apps. 

    The line I refer to is this one:
    "Note: To see authorized apps for a user, click  User profile > Security settings Third-Party Applications."

    0
  • Abraham K.

    Hello Angelique,

    The path is correct for examining your own app authorizations. Having run checks in our test environment the current UI build does not have a similar path to check the application permissions given by other account profiles.

    I am flagging this for review by our documentation team as the data in question in that menu should only relate to applications that link information for the user rather than the account as a whole (allowing users to share data via linked profiles on both applications, for example).

    Abraham K. | Customer Advocate

    0
  • Denise Myers

    If you downgrade person in Support to end user, what happens to their seat in Sell? This user subscribed to Sell first. When we started implementing Support, she was automatically given a Support seat even though she doesn't need one. 

    0
  • Shayne Traqueña
    Zendesk Customer Care

    Hi Denise,

    Thank you for reaching out! If you downgrade a user from Support, it won't affect the seat in Sell. They are different products so you do not need to worry about affecting the others :)

    I hope this clarifies!

    0
  • Kimberly Bowcutt

    If you don't reassign the tickets, how does the system determine who they go to? I assign the open ones, but apparently other tickets get randomly assigned to other agents if they aren't reassigned even though they are not open. I need to dictate who that person is. 

    0
  • Heather Rommel
    Community Moderator
    The Product Manager Whisperer - 2021

    Kimberly Bowcutt

    That sounds like you might have a trigger or add on that's assigning tickets? The only thing I can think of is that since you mention you assign the open ones, you might be skipping solved ones. You'll want to assign all tickets that are not in Closed (uneditable) status and that includes solved....

    Look at the events history on tickets that are getting assigned to other people that you didn't touch. The triggers should tell you more.

    0
  • Kimberly Bowcutt

    Hi Heather,

    We don't have any triggers to reassign, it has to be an imbedded system behavior. I was hoping to know the logic behind it so that I could dictate who the recipient is, but I guess I'll need to manually move all the tickets that are not closed.

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Powered by Zendesk