After you create or insert a content block, you can unlink, remove, or delete the content block as needed. Unlinking content blocks turns the content block text into regular text within the article, whereas removing content blocks from articles removes the linked content block text entirely. Deleting content blocks from your account removes the content block from the central content block list and all articles in which the content block appeared.
Unlinking a content block from within an article
To include the text from a content block in an article and modify it without affecting any other articles, you must unlink the content block. Once you unlink a content block, the text from the content block is no longer a content block. It's inserted into the article as unlinked text and can be modified without impacting any other articles.
To unlink a content block
- Open the article that contains the content block you want to unlink in edit mode.
- Hover over the content block, click the Options menu icon () then click Unlink.
The content block becomes regular text and is no longer a content block.
If you unlink a content block, it is represented in the source code as an alphanumeric ID rather than regular HTML. In the following example the highlighted content block will be unlinked.
After unlinking the content block, the section of text is represented in HTML as an alphanumeric ID.
Removing a content block from an article
If you want to remove a content block from the article completely, use the remove option.
To remove a content block from an article
- Open the article that contains the content block you want to remove in edit mode.
- Hover over the content block, click the Options menu icon () then click Remove.
The content block disappears from the article. The content block remains in any other articles where it is being used and is still available for reuse.
Deleting a content block from your help center
Guide admins can delete a content block that you no longer want to appear in your help center articles. The Delete option only appears if the content block is not used in any articles. If the content block is used in one or more articles, you must remove the block from the affected articles before you can delete it.
When you delete a content block, it's permanently removed from your account. You can't restore it afterwards.
To delete a content block from your help center
- In Guide, click Guide admin at the top of the page, then click the Manage articles icon () in the sidebar.
- Under the Tasks tab in the left menu, click Content blocks.
- From the content block list, click the title that you want to delete.
The content block opens in the content block editor. Refer to the side panel for information about where the content block appears. If the content block is being used in one or more articles, you must remove it from the affected articles before you can delete it.
Click the arrow next to the Update button, then select Delete.Note: If the content block is being used in an article, the Delete option will not appear. Instead, the Update button will only allow you to update the existing content block.
- Click Delete content block.
Please sign in to leave a comment.