After you give users access to Explore and define their role, you can choose which datasets they can view and change. This helps you secure your company information from unauthorized views or changes.
This article contains the following topics:
Understanding dataset permissions
Most of the Explore default datasets have read-only access permissions for all Explore users by default. However, all Sell datasets and custom datasets require an admin to grant a user permission to see or edit.
If you don't grant an editor or admin permissions to a dataset, they won't be able to create reports from it, or see data from it in either dashboards or reports, even when shared.
Explore admins and account owners can set dataset access permissions for other users. If you set at least one dataset permission for another admin, they gain all permissions (creating, editing, and saving reports, metrics, and attributes) to the dataset.
Admins can also modify their own permissions. If you want to prevent an admin from modifying dataset permissions, change their Explore role to Editor or a custom role with only the Create reports permission.
Setting dataset permissions
To set dataset permissions for users
- In Explore, click the Admin icon () on the left sidebar.
- Click the Dataset permissions icon.
- In the Team member dropdown field, select the user you want to set permissions for.Note: Only users who have previously accessed the Explore instance are shown in the list.
- For each dataset you want to set permissions for, select the checkboxes for the
appropriate level of access.
- Can view reports: The user can view existing reports and create new reports, but can't save or export them.
- Can save reports: The user can create, update, and delete reports.
- Can create calculations: The user can create and edit calculated metrics and attributes.
Can edit dataset: The user can edit and clone the dataset. Note: Editors can delete only the datasets they've created, but Admins can delete any dataset except for the default datasets.
Or choose Select all.
- When you're finished, navigate away from the page. Changes are saved automatically.