Deleting users

Have more questions? Submit a request

22 Comments

  • Quentin
    Comment actions Permalink

    If your organization must adhere to General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) you have to permanently delete users older than 2 years.

    How can you bulk permanently delete? 

    The only mention of bulk delete with the API is in https://help.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360000976667-Forgetting-a-user-in-Zendesk#topic_cyj_kbg_3db

    Permanently delete one or more users with the API

    Use the following endpoints:

     

    But it links to the end points for "normal" deletion not permanent.

    2
  • Nicole - Community Manager
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hi Quentin - 

    Can you please email your question to privacy@zendesk.com? Normally we wouldn't ask you to switch channels, but since GDPR is a legal compliance issue, the legal team has restricted what we can say about GDPR-related issues in the community and asked that we send all related questions over to them. 

    0
  • Sofia Klock Agelii
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hi, 

    this list with deleted users is neither searchable nor sortable, and users are listed only based on when they were deleted. The usability is very very low; it is impossible to find the correct user to permanently delete her if I have a long list of deleted users? Please advise! Thank you very much.

     

    Now, I have agents who left my company some time ago, and must be permanently deleted. I do not know when they were deleted, and I have no way of finding out, unless I click through each and every page. Is this the only solution?

    Best,

    Sofia

    0
  • Sofia Klock Agelii
    Comment actions Permalink

    And, one more question; how long after permanently deleting an agent, can I expect the name to be scrubbed from the tickets? I have just now soft deleted, and then permanently deleted an agent, but her name still shows for the comments she has made.

    (I realise her name will not disappear from the public comments or internal notes, but I do expect it to disappear from the "title" of all comments she has made, replacing it with "Permanently deleted User" or similar. Correct...? Thanks.

    0
  • Eckhard Doll
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hi,

    Sorry, but that's a really convoluted process to get a customer deleted.

    0
  • Emma Surtees
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hi, 

     

    We are an online business. If a customer asks to be permanently deleted then a year later they email us for a quote from the email address that has been deleted what will happen?

     

    0
  • Nicole - Community Manager
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hi Emma, 

    If you've fully permanently deleted them from the system and they email a year later, it would treat them as a new user and would set up a new account for them. 

    0
  • Troy Farol
    Comment actions Permalink

    "The user is soft deleted, meaning the user is still in the Zendesk database and accessible on a limited basis only to Zendesk employees with certain database privileges."

    If a user is "soft deleted" as mentioned above, what is the process of getting the user restored or reinstated? 

    0
  • Hervin Centeno
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hi Troy,

    Unfortunately it is not possible to recover a soft-deleted user. Additionally, we are unable to recover the organization or user on your behalf in accordance with our Data Recovery Policy.

    It appears that not all users are hard-deleted so that closed tickets in the account will retain a property called Ticket Requester, which stores the ID of the requester even after deletion. This can be used in Insights to review the data, or when reading the ticket via API.

    0
  • Benedikt Depta
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hi all, 
    what will happen to comments in tickets, community posts, created topics etc. for an enduser that has been

    a) soft-deleted

    b) permanentely deleted ?

    Thank you!

    0
  • Jupete Manitas
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hi Benedikt,

    Deleting a user removes their profile completely, but their tickets and Help Center posts (community/created topics) will remain.

    Thanks!

    0
  • Benedikt Depta
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hi Jupete,
    thank you for your answer.
    Do those remaining posts/tickets somehow have an indication that they belong to a deleted user?
    Thanks in advance.

    0
  • Jupete Manitas
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hi Benedikt,

    There is no indication on community posts or help center portal but you will see the indication when you view user's profile and tickets within your zendesk instance.

    Thanks!

    -1
  • Gurunn
    Comment actions Permalink

    It is possible to bulk delete end-users who have no tickets attached to them?

    Based on GDPR we have bulk deleted tickets that are older then xx years old. Now we would like to bulk delete the users who are have no tickets attached to them. 

    1
  • Devan - Community Manager
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hello Gurunn,

    Right now, there is not a method for deleting bulk users as you described. I went ahead though and linked an article below that should have some workarounds to make this process a little smoother. 

    How do I bulk delete?

    0
  • Stephen Schilling
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hello. I added a user and during the signup verification process something odd must have happened. I tried to delete her however she is nowhere to be found in the admin site for Managing Users. Then tried to add her a second time with the same email, and it says that email address is already a user. So I am a bit confused how shes there but I am unable to see her (and then remove her or reset password, etc). Thanks 

    0
  • Brett - Community Manager
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hey Stephen,

    Can you try searching for the user's email address as mentioned here? Searching users, groups, and organizations

    It's possible that the user's email address was added as a secondary email address to an already existing user profile as well.

    Let me know if you continue to experience issues as I'm happy to assist further.

    Cheers!

    0
  • Jenn Tomaszewski
    Comment actions Permalink

    If users are deleted (soft or permanent) in support, does that also delete them from Connect?  Thanks! 

    0
  • Madison Davis
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hi Jenn! When users are removed in Support, they should indeed be queued for removal in Connect. This may not happen instantaneously though! 

    0
  • Jenn Tomaszewski
    Comment actions Permalink

    Great! ThanksMadison Davis

    0
  • Rachel Wood
    Comment actions Permalink

    If we delete an agent (ie. because they're no longer a support agent), what happens to tickets in their queue? Do they go into the unassigned queue?

    0
  • Madison Davis
    Comment actions Permalink

    Hey Rachel! Deleting an agent assigns their unclosed tickets to the agent's default group. I recommend you check out our Best practices for removing agents to understand how to best roll this agent out of your Support account!

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Powered by Zendesk