In an ever changing environment agents may come and go, and when it is time for them to go how do you best maintain your support lines of communication? This article describes best practices for maintaining your lines of communication with your customers after an agent leaves your team.
The following are the steps you will want to take when removing an agent from your team:
The first priority when an agent leaves is to make sure any tickets that were being handled by that agent are maintained by the rest of your team. Ideally, the exiting agent will be able to reassign any tickets that they have assigned to themselves before they complete their time with you. In those cases when the agent isn't able to handle this, any admin can reassign tickets.
First, an admin must access the agent's profile ( Admin > Manage > People ), and select the Assigned tickets view. Then there are two possible actions.
The first option is to manually assign each of these tickets, one by one, to the agents that you would like to take over the tickets.
The second option is to bulk assign these tickets to the agent(s) you would like to have take over. This can be done by selecting the check boxes next to the tickets you want to assign and then selecting the Edit (number) ticket(s) button that will appear in the upper right hand corner of your screen.
If you would like to assign the tickets back to the agent's group, you will have some additional steps to take. The tickets will need to be assigned outside of the exiting agent's group, and then a second reassignment can be done to assign the tickets to the original group.
If an agent has tickets that are in a solved state and have not yet been closed, you might want to setup a trigger that will reassign any reopened tickets to that agent's group. That trigger would resemble the image below.
Downgrading the agent's role
When an agent leaves, you will want to maintain the information of the tickets that an agent has handled in the past. For this reason, you should not delete an agent when they leave. Instead, first downgrade and then suspend the agent's account. This way, in most cases your reporting information stays intact for future reference and any articles posted by your agent will continue to have an agent's name instead of a deleted user as its author.
Keep in mind that if you are removing the admin who originally set up your integration between a stand-alone Chat account and Support, downgrading their access may cause ticket creation to fail. For help, contact our customer service team.
To downgrade an agent
- Go to Admin > Manage > People , then search for agent's name.
- Select Edit .
- On the agent's profile you will see the Role section on the upper left hand side.
- Select End-user from the drop-down list.
You'll see a warning screen that informs you of the privileges that will be lost by this user if you continue with the downgrade. Verify that this is what you want by selecting Yes, downgrade this user . Once you select this, your agent is no longer an agent and will no longer count towards your agent limit.
Insights users may experience issues with some reports when they downgrade an agent. Potential issues include:
- Reports that slice via user role can be affected, as the downgraded agent is now an end-user.
- Report tabs with user filtering enabled will no longer show the downgraded agent in the drop-down.
- Public reports by the downgraded agent will still be available, but private reports will disappear. Any private reports you want to keep should be saved under an active agent's account.
Enterprise customers may want to downgrade an agent to a light agent, then suspend them, to mitigate the impact on their Insights reports.
Suspending the agent's account
The final step for this process is to suspend the agent's account. This will prevent the agent from logging in to their account going forward. This can be done right after downgrading the agent, within the user profile.
- Go to Admin > Manage > People and select the downgraded agent's profile.
- Select User options in the upper right hand corner.
- Select Suspend access from the drop-down list.
Your agent is no longer a part of your Zendesk Support intance at this point.