Some support teams never delete tickets; they instead move them through their workflow to close them using an automation. You can, however, delete a ticket if you want. Deleted tickets are moved into a Deleted Tickets view, where you can restore them or permanently delete them. After 30 days deleted tickets are permanently deleted and removed from the Deleted Tickets view.
This article contains the following sections:
Deleting a ticket
If needed, you can delete a ticket. Deleted tickets are moved into a Deleted tickets view for 30 days, where you can restore them or permanently delete them.
You can also delete multiple tickets at the same time. For more information, see Bulk deleting tickets.
To delete a ticket
- Open the ticket that you want to delete.
- Click the Ticket options menu in the upper right, then select Delete.
The Ticket options menu looks slightly different in the Zendesk Agent Workspace (shown on the left) and the standard agent interface (shown on the right).
You'll be asked to confirm that you want to delete the ticket.
- Click OK to confirm that you want to delete the ticket.
The ticket is deleted and moved to the Deleted tickets view for 30 days until it is permanently deleted.
Undoing a ticket deletion
When you delete a ticket, you can quickly undo the deletion and recover the ticket if you need to.
- Click Undo in the message about the ticket deletion.
The message only displays for a few seconds. If you miss the option in the message, you can restore the deleted ticket from the Deleted Ticket view (see Restoring a deleted ticket).
Permanently deleting a ticket
Deleted tickets appear in a Deleted tickets view for 30 days. After that time, they are automatically permanently deleted.
If a ticket is in an archived state (greater than 120 days since marked as solved) before being deleted, it will not display in the deleted tickets view. By default, views do not display archived tickets.
You can manually permanently delete tickets before that time, if you want. If you do so, the ticket disappears from the Deleted tickets view, and there is no way to recover the permanently deleted ticket.
- Reporting overview: Deleted tickets are not excluded from the reporting overview. The ticket ID for a permanently deleted ticket is stored as a record, but no other information or ticket fields is stored for a permanently deleted ticket.
- Explore: Deleted tickets are excluded from most Explore reports by default. If you want to report on ticket deletion events, create a report in the Updates history dataset using the Activity > Deletions metric. SLA data from deleted tickets is also retained in the SLAs dataset.
To permanently delete a ticket
- Select the tickets you want to permanently delete.
A toolbar appears at the bottom of the list.
- Click Delete permanently.
- Confirm that you want to permanently delete the selected tickets.
You can't recover permanently deleted tickets. All attachments associated with the tickets are also deleted.Note: When you permanently delete a ticket, the record remains but all user-submitted content is scrubbed. As a result, scrubbed versions of deleted tickets still appear in the results of the Incremental Ticket Export API because the ticket records still exist. See Excluding deleted tickets in the developer docs.