Explore use roles to control the level of access agents are given to it. For example, you might want some agents to be able to create and view reports and other agents to have only view access to reports.
The role names, and the method you use to associate them with users depends on the Support plan you are using.
For more details about giving agents access to Explore, see Giving agents access to Explore. If you're using Explore Lite, all of your agents have view-only access to the pre-built dashboards.
In this article, you'll learn about the following Explore roles and the level of access they give to your agents:
Explore roles in Support Professional
Explore includes the three roles in the table below when you use it with Support Professional. In addition, a fourth role no access is used when Explore is turned off in the agents profile.
Includes all Editor permissions plus the following:
Explore permissions in Support Enterprise roles
You can set the following permissions for the setting What can this agent do in Explore? in Support Enterprise roles:
|Create reports and manage permissions||
Includes all Create reports permissions plus the following:
|No access||Agents with no access cannot view or access Explore.|
When I share a dashboard that I created with a user who has the role Editor or Admin, is that user allowed to Delete the dashboard? In other words, I'm trying to avoid a scenario in which the users I share a dashboard with can delete my dashboard. My current workaround is to Clone the original shared dashboard and have a copy (not shared). This way, if one of the users ever happens to delete the original dashboard, I can share out the copy. Thanks!
As an Admin or Editor, you are able to delete a Query or Dashboard. Otherwise, those users can be downgraded to just a Viewer, or you can can continue to use your workaround.
The permissions on Explore are for the product as a whole, and not specific to individual dashboards or queries.
This is a nightmare for Explore users. Only Admins should have the ability to delete someone else'e report. We are constantly finding that people are deleting other peoples reports or custom metrics. It might be by mistake, but regardless there is no undo or recover option. Please make it so that users are unable to delete data they did not create in Explore...or find a way to recover deleted data.
Hi Reshma -
Thanks for sharing your thoughts! If you would like your feedback to be seen by a product manager, please post it to the Feedback on Explore space in the community.
Please sign in to leave a comment.